Board of Directors

HeartLands Conservancy is governed by a Board of Directors and four committees – Governance, Finance & Audit, Development, and Programs & Services.

Our Board Members bring a wealth of experience and – most importantly – a passion for conservation in southern Illinois. The work of our organization would not be possible without their dedication and volunteerism.

Board Members

  • Janet Haroian, SIUE Office of the Vice Chancellor (Retired), Chair
  • Gary Huelsmann, Caritas Family Solutions, Vice Chair
  • William Boardman, Firehouse Contracting, Second Vice Chair
  • Amy Kempfer, Associated Bank, Treasurer
  • Anne Werner, SIUE School of Engineering, Secretary
  • Dawn Johnson, Public Relations and Communications Consultant, Development Committee Chair
  • Robert C. Nelson, Nelson & Nelson Attorneys At Law, Programs & Services Committee Chair
  • Dallas Alley, City of Fairview Heights
  • Denise Augustin, Ernst & Young 
  • David Cobb, Agency for Community Transit
  • Carol Gentry, SIUE (Retired), Field to Fork Co-Chair
  • Nancy Larson, Retired Attorney
  • Cliff Schuette, Schuette Seed Supply & Schuette Signature Beef
  • Lisa Tiedemann, Farmer & Retired Teacher
  • Kerry Warren-Couch, Organic Farmer, Retired