Shawnee National Forest – Mississippi Bluffs

Jackson, Williamson, Union, Alexander, and Pulaski Counties.   |  107,000 Acres

Type: Natural Area

Owned by: HeartLands Conservancy and US Forest Service

Hours: Varies by location.

Location and Directions: Located on the western side of the forest in Jackson, Williamson, Union, Alexander, and Pulaski Counties.

Facilities: Varies by location, learn more about the Shawnee National Forest here.

Regulations: Varies by location. 


The western Mississippi Bluffs District of the Shawnee National Forest includes many special places for recreation and wildlife viewing, including LaRue Pine Hills, Oakwood Bottoms, Pomona Natural Bridge, and Little Grand Canyon. HeartLands Conservancy has preserved over 200 acres of natural areas for incorporation into the Shawnee National Forest’s Mississippi Bluffs district.